<body><script type="text/javascript"> function setAttributeOnload(object, attribute, val) { if(window.addEventListener) { window.addEventListener('load', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }, false); } else { window.attachEvent('onload', function(){ object[attribute] = val; }); } } </script> <div id="navbar-iframe-container"></div> <script type="text/javascript" src="https://apis.google.com/js/plusone.js"></script> <script type="text/javascript"> gapi.load("gapi.iframes:gapi.iframes.style.bubble", function() { if (gapi.iframes && gapi.iframes.getContext) { gapi.iframes.getContext().openChild({ url: 'https://www.blogger.com/navbar.g?targetBlogID\x3d5563885165144685554\x26blogName\x3dOn+This+Day+In+Video\x26publishMode\x3dPUBLISH_MODE_BLOGSPOT\x26navbarType\x3dBLUE\x26layoutType\x3dCLASSIC\x26searchRoot\x3dhttps://onthisdayinvideo.blogspot.com/search\x26blogLocale\x3den_US\x26v\x3d2\x26homepageUrl\x3dhttp://onthisdayinvideo.blogspot.com/\x26vt\x3d-294290805914265904', where: document.getElementById("navbar-iframe-container"), id: "navbar-iframe" }); } }); </script>

The island nation of Ceylon became the republic of Sri Lanka - 1972

Tuesday, May 22, 2007

Sri Lanka is a small island in the Indian Ocean (65,000 sqkm). Despite being so small, the country has a wide range of geographic features and is rich in culture and natural beauty

Sri Lanka, renamed in Sinhala on 22nd May 1972, had been called as Ceylon by British during colonial times.

When the British left in 1948, the 20% Tamils were left with 80% Sinhalese within a unitary country where the decisions were taken by democratic parliament system. Under this system, racially polarised Sinhalese and Tamils were ruled by the constant majority of Sinhalese against the democratic wishes of Tamils as Tamils were the constant minority.

Before 1833, the Tamil people were under different administration. They had their own kingdoms, culture and language which are very different from those of Sinhalese until 1505. The first colonial invasion took place in 1505. British brought Tamils and Sinhalese under one administration in 1833 and called this new colony as Ceylon.

Labels: ,

“The island nation of Ceylon became the republic of Sri Lanka - 1972”

On This Day In Video Home